Header Ads Widget

JUST IN: Supreme Court Upolds INEC’s De-registration Of Political Parties

The Nigerian Supreme Court upheld the Independent National Electoral Commission’s (INEC) decision to de-register 22 political parties on Friday.

Political parties have been barred from contesting elections in 2020 by the electoral board.

In a Friday verdict, Justice Ejembi Eko annulled and set aside the Court of Appeal’s decision that had nullified the de-registration.

The Court of Appeal, according to Justice Eko, ruled in favor of the impacted parties without hearing from other parties in the case.

“This INEC appeal is meritorious and is hereby granted.” The decision of the court below is set aside.”

The affected party include, Advanced Congress of Democrats, ACD, Advanced Nigeria Democratic Party, ANDP, All Blending Party ABP, All Grand Alliance Party, AGAP, Alliance of Social Democrats, ACD, Change Advocacy Party, CAP, Democratic Peoples Congress, DPC, Green Party of Nigeria, GPN.

Others parties include Masse Movement of Nigeria, MMN, Mega Party of Nigeria, MPN, New Generation Party of Nigeria, NGP, Nigeria For Democracy, NFD, Peoples Coalition Party PCP, Progressive Peoples Alliance, PPA, People For Democratic Change, PDC, and Young Democratic Party, YDP.

The rest are Re-build Nigeria Party, RBNP, Save Nigeria Congress, SNC, Socialist Party of Nigeria, SPN, United Democratic Party, UDP, United Patriots, UP, and We the People Nigeria, WTPN.

Post a Comment