Page Nav


Breaking News:


Ads Place

Ads Place

MTN Retires Pascal Dozie As Chairman, Appoints Ernest Ndukwe

MTN Nigeria has announced the retirement of Pascal Dozie as chairman of its board of directors after 18 years.

He is to be replaced by former chief executive officer of the Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC), Ernest Ndukwe, with effect from September 2, 2019, Igbere TV reports.

Others retired alongside Ndukwe, 80, are vice-chairman, Col. Sani Bello (Rtd); non-executive director, Victor Odili; non-executive director, Ahmed Dasuki; non-executive director, Babatunde Folawiyo, and non-executive director, Gbenga Oyebode.

A statement released by the company’s spokesman, Funso Aina, on Wednesday, said the men were retired following the expiration of their tenure and in compliance with applicable codes of corporate governance.

Acknowledging the vital contribution made by the outgoing directors over the last 18 years, MTN Nigeria CEO, Ferdinand Moolman, said: “On behalf of MTN Nigeria, I would like to offer our heartfelt thanks to our pioneering Chairman, Pascal Dozie and the outgoing Directors. Our journey over the last 18 years has been incredible, and it would not have been possible without the initial entrepreneurial spirit of our founding directors, and their unfailing and dedicated support for MTN Nigeria’s vision over the years. I could not have asked for a more supportive, knowledgeable and experienced group of advisors.”

Speaking on behalf of the outgoing Directors, Pascal Dozie, said: “In 2001, when I made the first call on the MTN Nigeria network, I don’t think anyone envisaged the pace and scale of growth that we, and the broader telecoms sector would achieve over the next 18 years. It is a unique story that we are immensely proud of.

“Having served as chairman of MTN Nigeria for all of those 18 years, I achieved a long-held ambition earlier this year, when MTN Nigeria listed on the Nigerian Stock Exchange, providing an opportunity for a wider pool of Nigerians to become investors in the company. I cannot think of a better time to be handing over the reins of the company to a new chairman, and to a new group of distinguished Nigerian directors. Not only is this in line with best practice, which we are fully committed to as a member of the premium board of the Nigerian Stock Exchange, it is also absolutely aligned to the company’s future.

“On behalf of the out-going directors, I would like to thank the Board and Management of MTN Nigeria for their support over the years and to welcome the incoming directors. They have a hugely exciting future in front of them, and I believe, the opportunity to make the next 18 years even more successful than the last.”

Mr Aina’s statement added: “The Board of MTN Nigeria Communications Plc. would like to express its appreciation to the six directors for their commitment, leadership and extensive contributions to the success of the Company since their appointment in 2002. The Board wishes them the very best in all their future endeavours.”

Joining Ndukwe on the new board of directors are Michael Onochie Ajukwu, independent non-executive director; Muhammad Ahmad, independent non-executive director; Andrew Alli, non-executive director, and Omobola Johnson, non-executive director.

Mrs Johnson was Nigeria’s minister of communication and technology from 2011 to 2015 under former President Goodluck Jonathan.