Page Nav


Breaking News:


Ads Place

Ads Place

FG appoints CMDs for 11 Federal Medical Centres, others


Federal Government has appointed 11 new Chief Medical Directors (CMDs) to pilot the affairs of Federal Medical Centres (FMCs) and other health facilities across states of the country.

A statement signed by the Director of Press and Public Relations of the Federal Ministry of Health, Patricia Deworitshe on Thursday listed the names of the newly as Prof. Nyandanti Yakub Wilberforce, MD, FMC, Hong, Adamawa State, Prof. Issa Baba Awoye, MD, Federal Neuropsychiatric Hospital, Buddo-Egba, Kwara State, Dr. Umar Faruk Abdumajid, MD, FMC Daura, Katsina State, and Dr. Muhammad Shittu Adamu, MD, FMC, Wase, Plateau.

Others are Prof Shuaibu Jauro Yahya, MD, FMC, Mubi, Adamawa State, Dr. Mercy Anugwu, MD, FMC, Onitsha, Anambra State, Prof. Auwalu Sani Salihu, FNPH Dawanau Kano State, Prof. Rufai Ahmed, Registrar/ CEO, Medical Rehabilitation Therapists Board of Nigeria.

While Prof. Mangwa J. Kortar, MD, FMC, Makurdi, Benue State, Prof. Robinson Chukwudi Onoh CMD, Alex Ekwueme, Federal University Teaching Hospital, Abakiliki, Ebonyi State, and Dr. Nurudeen Isa, MD, National Orthopaedic Hospital, Dala, Kano State were also on the list.

The Permanent Secretary of the Federal Ministry of Health, Kachollom Daju, while congratulating and presenting letters of appointment for an initial four-year tenure with effect from 1st August 2023 to the new CMDs in Abuja, charged them to work together with the health workers and stakeholders as a team and explore all necessary avenues to provide a conducive work environment and Infrastructure aimed at achieving high standard health care.

She said, “it may be challenging but there is no challenge that is unsurmountable and your appointment is an indication of the confidence that the Federal Government reposed on you.”

She enjoined them to bring the skill and wealth of experience they acquired over the years to bear in their various health facilities noting that their performance will determine the renewal of their tenure.

Daju assured that the Ministry will provide necessary support with the available resources to enable them to meet the hospital standard adding that the Ministry will organise induction training to the newly appointed MDs soon.

In response, on behalf of the newly appointed MDs, Dr. Mercy Anugwu expressed appreciation to the President and the Ministry for finding them worthy of the appointment assuring that they will not disappoint.

“We will do our best to improve the lot of our people, to justify the confidence reposed in us by the President and the Ministry, we will put in what it takes to move the health care system in our facilities going forward, we will not rest, we will move along with the vision of Mr. President and make sure that our people receive the best, we will not disappoint you” she promised.


No comments